Profiles in Courage

Sometimes when I find myself mired in a self-centered attitude I think that maybe… just maybe.. if I hear enough examples like these I might be able to truly put myself on a firm path to holiness.  Michael Voris in the video, reminds us “we have to stop complaining about the scoreboard and get in the game”.  Michael walks the walk.  He gave up a broadcasting career and put everything he has into Real Catholic TV — a vision to bring quality Catholic video content to the internet in the new evangelization.  I would embed the video here, but it’s not the right format.  click the link!

Next is the Rev. Walter Hoye.  He was arrested and is now a prisoner of conscience in the Santa Rita Jail.  Why?  For contempt of court in refusing to submit to a judge’s demand that he not sidewalk counsel outside abortion clinics  for three years.  He was jailed for standing on a public sidewalk and PRAYING.  He refused to comply with a law and a punishment that violated his faith.

“It is Thursday, March 26th, 2009 and I am sitting on the top of the second (2nd) of fifteen (15) bunks in housing unit thirty-four (34) east of the Santa Rita jail in Dublin, California. 

Here my thoughts turn towards my brothers, men of the cloth, men who are called and sanctified by God the Father. Men who are preserved as the bondservants of Jesus Christ. Men who serve as the holy burden bearers of God’s word. Men who are the watchmen on the wall. It is now in the spirit of the prophet Ezekiel, I write to my fellow watchmen on the wall.

Ezekiel’s name in Hebrew means, God makes strong, hardens. Ezekiel’s name not only describes his character, but also his assignment. Ezekiel’s divinely inspired and ordained assignment was both unpopular and unwelcomed. Ezekiel’s assignment stood against the prevailing wisdom of his day that called for the leaders of Israel to play it safe and avoid unpleasant topics of conversation…”

Read the rest here

The Rev. Hoye is on a 40-day, juice-only fast.

And let’s all be sure to pray him, and the courage to Be the Change we wish to see in the world.

Explore posts in the same categories: Pro-Life issues, Uncategorized, Videos, Vision

