And now for something completely different…

I have not really understood the tattoo phenomenon AT ALL.  I do understand how people like to express themselves, and display things that are meaningful to them.  I don’t know about you, but my interests, and even expressions of my interests change over time.  I don’t see how I will be as enamored with a particular tattoo 5 to 10 years down the road.

Of course then there’s the whole phenomenon of us not being able to keep our bodies in our youthful prime … ahem… gotta stay away from that bathroom mirror.  MY grandfather got tattoos of a hula girl when he was stationed at Schofield Barracks in Oahu back in the late 1930’s.  Even though I can remember him being able to make her dance, she was certainly not very attractive after 40 years.  Let alone instantly recognizeable as a hula girl.

Anyway,  all that is a prelude to this interesting site devoted to protraying Judaeo-Christian Body art.

I like the commentaries they provide.  My favorite is the Jerusalem cross:

This cross is known as the Jerusalem Cross or the Crusader’s Cross because it first appeared on the coat-of-arms of Godfrey of Bouillon, the first ruler of the Latin Kingdom of Jerusalem. He was one of the leaders of the first Crusade. He was named King of Jerusalem in 1099 after Christians regained the Holy Land.

The central cross is made of four tau (T) crosses representing the Old Testament law. The four smaller Greek crosses represent the fulfillment of the law in the four gospels of Christ that have spread to the four corners of the earth. Altogether, the five crosses represent the five wounds of Christ on the cross (hands, feet and side).

Many Christians who participated in the Crusades tattooed themselves with a cross on the wrists or hands to show that they wished to be buried as Christians (in the event they died in battle).

Practical!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

