Prayer Journal 2009.09.01

After I prayed Psalm 43 in my morning prayer today, I prayed extemporaneously with Verse 3 as my focus:

O send out your light and your truth;  let them lead me…

I’ve been more conscious than usual lately of my need for two gifts:  discernment and wisdom.  I truly desire to follow our loving Lord’s will for my life in all things.  He, more so than I, knows what I need, what will help me to become the person he wants me to be.  I don’t want my selfishness and disordered passions to guide my life.  However, in some of my more important everyday situations I am unable to determine with any degree of certainty what is best for me (and for all others that would be affected!).  Thus, I was joyfully encouraged when I encountered this verse.  As I formed my prayer based on Ps 43:3, I was equating “light” to discernment and “truth” to wisdom.  I heartfully implored the Lord for the grace of these gifts.

A little later, when praying the Angelus at noon, the first line of the concluding prayer seemed to me an echo of my earlier prayers:  “Pour forth, we beseech thee O Lord, thy grace into our hearts,…”  Again, my heart pined for the graces of discernment and wisdom.

As I completed the Angelus, I reflected on this heartwarming anecdote that I had read yesterday evening in a our Holy Father’s Angelus address on 8/15/09:

Motivated by apostolic longing, [St John Vianney] rejoiced in speaking to his faithful of Mary and never tired of doing so. He could even present a difficult mystery like today’s, that of the Assumption, with effective images, such as, for example:  “Man was created for Heaven. The devil broke the ladder that led to it. Our Lord, with his Passion, made another…. The Virgin Most Holy stands at the top of the ladder and holds it steady with both hands”

Explore posts in the same categories: Prayer, Scripture

One Comment on “Prayer Journal 2009.09.01”

  1. Christian Says:

    Wow Walt — I think we posted at the same time — our minds were apparently thinking along the same lines. Not sure what to make of that…


Comments are closed.


