Leaving it all on the field

All the hype and analysis leading up to this Sunday’s Super Bowl has me comparing my life as a follower of Jesus to playing football.  So evenly matched are the Colts and the Saints that, ‘on paper,’ it seems that this year’s game has the potential to be one of the truly great Super Bowl games.  When history does produce one of those rare games that results in an epic battle between well-matched opponents**, you sometimes hear the phrase “he left it all on the field” to describe to a player’s performance.  This refers to a player exhausting every ounce of his mental and physical energy in his desire to win the championship.  He attempts to make every stride his fastest, every jump his highest, every block his hardest and most effective.  He maintains his concentration despite late-game fatigue, and focuses like a laser on the football.  At the end of the game, he is totally drained, completely spent physically and emotionally.

And so I ask myself:

When was the last time that I entered into a time of personal prayer with that level of earnest desire to deepen my relationship with God?

When was the last time I “left it all on the field” in my effort to seek personal intimacy with my Lord?

When was the last time I left a period of prayer drained emotionally?

When was the last time I left a period of prayer totally spent physically?

**I’m old enough to remember vividly such an effort in 1981 by San Diego’s Tight End Kellen Winslow in the Chargers 41-38 overtime playoff victory over Miami, when he caught 13 passes for 166 yards and blocked a field goal with four seconds to play to send the game into overtime.

Explore posts in the same categories: Prayer, Virtuous living

One Comment on “Leaving it all on the field”

  1. Mike Says:

    That’s a great analogy. It reminds me of a great article by Anthony Esolen called “What Sports Illustrate.” I can’t find it or I’d give a link.


Comments are closed.


