This is precisely how screwed up my prayer life is.

Of late I thought I had been doing pretty good with a prayer life.  I try and give one of the first half hours or so to God in dedicated prayer, wheter it is Liturgy of the Hours, Magnifact Mag, Rosary, Meditation, Lectio Divnia — what have you.  Oftentimes in the morning it is a challenge to keep out impending thoughts of what I need to do during the balance of the day.  Then, later on arond noon I like to say a standard prayers, and read a bit out of the NT.

I have been fairly convicted by recent experience, including a talk by Fr. Larry Richards  and C.S Lewis ‘The problem of Pain.’  I thought I was doing pretty good until I heard these two guys.

Fr. Larry:

YOu gotta have daily commited prayer.  You don’t TRY to fit God into your day;  you build your day around God…do you TRY to eat every day?  Do you TRY to read the paper every day?  How about if your relationship with your wife was like that?  Every day in the morning after you wake up and do your stuff, you go to see your wife with your book of poems.  And you read her a beautiful poem.  And then you say “Shhhh!”  And then you go about the rest of your day, and you’re one of these real good husbands becausae you pick up the phone, call her and say, “Thank you for everything you’ve ever done for me: SHhhhhh.”  and then you hang up.  You go home from work and your wife has made you a beautiful dinner, and every day you say the same words, “Thank you for this wonderful dinner.”  And then you shove it down your throat and never talk to her during your dinner time.  After that, you show that you’re in that 1% of great huysbands by sayin “Thanks for that dinner, it was really great.”  Next its off to read the paper or watch TV, and right before you go to bed, you walk in to see your spouse with your book of poems, and you read her the same poem every night… or the same 5 poems… or ‘let’s try something different tonite’ and you try a dfifferent poem.  And after you do this for 50 years, what kind of relationship would that be gentlemen?  It would STINK.  And that’s our relationship with God.  We say our prayers, but we don’t enter into a relationship.

C.S. Lewis:

“We try, when we wake, to lay the new day at God’s feet; but before we have finished shaving, it becomes our day and God’s share in it is felt as a tribute which we must pay out of ‘our own’ paocket, a deduction from the time which ought, we feel, to be ‘our own’.

OUCH!

Explore posts in the same categories: Prayer

2 Comments on “This is precisely how screwed up my prayer life is.”

  1. Walt Says:

    Reminds me of one of my favorite Cdl Newman prayers:

    My God, how far I am from acting according to what I know so well! I confess it, my heart goes after shadows. I love anything better than communion with thee. I am ever eager to get away from thee. Often I find it difficult even to say my prayers. There is hardly any amusement I would not rather take up than set myself to think of thee. Give me grace, O my Father, to be utterly ashamed of my own reluctance! Rouse me from sloth and coldness, and make me desire thee with my whole heart. Teach me to love meditation, sacred reading, and prayer. Teach me to love that which must engage my mind for all eternity.

    Found in here:
    http://www.newmanreader.org/works/meditations/meditations9.html#doctrine3

  2. Christian Says:

    Thanks Walt! Prayers like that are very comforting. It’s one reason I like Adrienne von Speyrs’ Book of All Saints’ where she was granted visions of the prayer life of many many saints over the years.It is very helpful in seeing that Sainthood ius attainable for all of us.


Comments are closed.


